Posted by: popcouver | March 1, 2011

Popcouver’s Oscar Fashion Hits

So THEE red carpet of the year has come and gone, and frankly, I’m feeling slightly underwhelmed by the fashion that we were forced to bear witness to. Yes, there are some stunning works of art that I’ll mention below, but it remains that most of these “hits” took two nights of “sleeping on it” to decide on.

That being said, now that I have slept on it, I feel passionate about my picks for best dressed! Most importantly, the ladies. We’ll get to the men later on.

1. Mila Kunis in Elie Saab

Now, if you remember correctly, I also chose Mila Kunis as my favorite at the Golden Globes. Yes, you may attribute this second victory to my massive girl crush, but LOOK AT THIS DRESS. Then come back and talk to me.

This Elie Saab gown looks like it was MADE for Mila. The color could end up looking a little frou-frou on a blonde, but with Mila’s edge, it works just right. The hair is elegant (I love me a messy low up-do) and the sheer paneling in the skirt? Please. This is absolutely stunning. A perfect mix of pretty and hot. Justin Timberlake definitely couldn’t keep his eyes off her while they presented together.

2. Anne Hathaway’s Red Versace Gown

I love this for one of two reasons. Option A is that in comparison to some of the other dresses that Rachel Zoe picked out for Anne, this is by far the best in fit, color, shape, and texture. Option B is that it really is a gorgeous, sexy, Versace gown that should have gotten proper recognition by being worn for an entire night, not just a 10 minute stint onstage. HOWEVER, Anne did choose it for the after parties, so she obviously agrees with me that it was her best look. I also LOVE this hair on her. Props to her hairstylist.

3. Mandy Moore’s Performance Dress by Monique Lhullier

Unlike the nude/sparkly/sheer panelled dress she wore on the red carpet (featuring weird hair and makeup), this dress is something I can make a concrete decision on. LOVE. Love love love. I am ALL about jewel tones and detailing that ISN’T sequins, so this dress is definitely one of my favorites of the night. Like Anne’s Versace, I wish that Mandy had worn this for longer than one song onstage. The bustier reminds me of the dress Miley Cyrus wore to the Oscars last year, but it is SO much better in the blue, and attached to that gorgeous skirt.

4. Scarlett Johannson in Dolce and Gabbana

I’ve read several different opinions on this dress. Issues have arisen such as too many different patterns, dislike on the sheer panelling, concerns about fit in the boobage, etc etc etc. However, I am here to tell you MY opinion, and MY opinion is that it’s fabulous. It’s unique, for a night that was full of red-strapless things and nude sparkly things (though some of them were fab), and it’s not a dress that any girl can pull off! The sleeveless look is not easy on the arms, but Scarlett looks curvy and beautiful. The bob is relaxed and bouncy and the color is great!

Also, I mean, check out the back and the train. I love the double lace detailing.

I don’t know who chose orange for her eye makeup either, but they know what they’re doing. Her eyes are popping out of her head. Lovely!

5. Hailee Steinfeld in Custom Made Marchesa

There are arguments that Hailee looks too frou frou in this pink princess gown and that this look wasn’t “fashion forward” enough.

To that I say, the girl is 14 and she’s nominated for an Oscar. She can wear whatever the hell she wants!

But this is fabulous! She apparently sketched an idea and then Marchesa made it a reality for her. I love the gold peep toes with the nudey-pink color, and the tea length is ADORABLE. On TV it looked slightly shorter than it does here, so I think the photog was just shooting downwards at her. Reportedly, at the after shows Hailee switched her gold slippers to something more comfortable- red Converse high tops. Yes!

6. Natalie Portman in Rodarte


This is not the first Rodarte dress that Natalie has worn for the awards season, but I definitely like this one the best! Hot DAMN is she pregnant. I love the color, the neckline (hello baby cleav), and the loose curls. I also really appreciate the tassel earrings? Interesting choice. Really though, I am so in love with NatPort that she could have worn a flour sack and I still would have called it a hit.

7. Celine Dion in Giorgio Armani Prive

Not often does Celine Dion come up on my radar. But here she is, mere months after giving birth to twins, rocking a fitted, silver, column gown. Oh my goodness, she is a god. Her hair is beautiful, she and Rene are so obviously in love, and she’s headed back to Vegas soon. What else is there?!

8. Amy Adams

I love the sparkle, I love the necklace, I think the color is beauitful on her, the long waves are perfect. Yes, she could have worn her hair up to show off the dress, yes the necklace is a bit of an odd combination, but Amy Adams is stunning and it works.

9. Cate Blanchett in Givenchy Haute Couture


After much debate, Cate has appeared on my top ten list. It was a long and treacherous road, but we have arrived in once piece! Honestly, I may have put her on my list for the haircut along… She just looks SO unique and beautiful, rather than mistakable for Gwyneth and Cameron. The dress is weird, yes, but I think the contrasting colors, the opposition between the floaty skirt and the structured shoulders works for me.

10. Selena Gomez, featuring arm candy.

Yes, I realize Selena Gomez didn’t attend the Oscars. Yes, I realize that I have in the past made comments about her not being a real celebrity. HOWEVER. Even I cannot ignore the perfection that is this photo:

Eeeeee I just want to die. Best Accessory an 18-year-old girl could ask for! The Biebs aside, she looks striking, age appropriate, and happy. Well played. I like this a million times better than what she wore to the Grammys.

There it is! Check back for more Oscar coverage!

Leave a Reply

Categories

