Posted by: popcouver | January 25, 2011

Popcouver Movie Review: True Grit

Last week I went to see True Grit. I originally hadn’t had it on the top of my movie to watch pile, but my boy really wanted to see it and I had made him go to see Black Swan recently and was feeling generous. However, even though it seemed like it was going to be a h-core man movie, with guaranteed blood and gore thanks to the Coen brothers, I was pleasantly surprised by the sentimental value added into this film.

Hailee Steinfeld, the 14-year-old star, was amazing in her role. No wonder she just got nominated for an Academy Award. I am super excited for her, and to see what she wears. So far she has been looking great this award season. As a person of the female sex, I would like to suggest this movie to other females. It was heart warming, yet still full of the all the classic western qualities. I was slightly disappointed by the ending, but I have found this with many Coen Brother movies. However, I still suggest it!

This is a perfect date night movie! Both you and your man will enjoy it. Also, if you are like me, and trying to see all the Oscar nominated movies you will be able to check this one off your list.

Leave a Reply

Categories

