Posted by: popcouver | November 6, 2010

Cover Girl Emma Watson

Just when we feared that the promotions for HP7.1 would never start, Emma Watson has surfaced on the cover of both British Vogue (her first time in Vogue!) as well as Marie Claire.

Featuring her new pixie cut, Watson exudes all the class that we have always known and loved her for. Never unappreciative, Watson discusses the fame and fortune that came along with her ten-year stint as the loveable Hermione Granger. I struggle to sympathize with the girl over the restrictions, because, well, I wanted to be Hermione. But to be honest, they couldn’t have cast a more relatable and beautiful girl.

Marie Claire:


On rebelling from fame: “I do things in my own way, but I’ve never felt any need to rebel,” Emma told the magazine. “To be honest, I’ve always had far too much freedom. I had a job when I was 10. I started living on my own when I was 17 or 18. I’ve earned my own money; I’ve traveled the world. What would I rebel against?”

On Brown and Facebook: “Brown has a real sense of community, and people are very protective of me,” she said. “They really look out for me; they want me to feel like I’m part of it. I threw my 20th birthday party at Brown, and I didn’t even have to say to anyone not to put pictures on Facebook. Not a single picture went up. That was when I knew I’d found a solid group of friends, and I felt like I belonged.”

On sticking it out through 8 films: “I’m glad I saw it through to the end; I played that character from the start, and I wanted to finish what I started. It felt very satisfying that I had completed Hermione’s journey,” she said.

What’s next for Ms. Watson? There’s no mention in the article. Am I alone in hoping that Fashion is the next step? I do think she’s a talented actress (Daisy Buchanan, anyone?) but I feel that her work with Burberry and People Tree was really where her heart was. To be honest, I’m sure we’ll get some idea through the next 2 weeks worth of appearances, interviews, and press conferences.

Click here for the full interview and photo shoot, or check out the photos below. To be frank, I think that Emma’s hair  is really working. I know there are concerns that she has lost her feminine look or that she is boring now, but I honestly think for Emma, less is more. If you want to cut your hair short, you just have to commit to a more feminine style. The Marie Claire shoot is perfect because the pallet is light and demure but her makeup has a little bit of edge to it. Mmm. Win for me.

British Vogue:

No quotes or excerpts yet! We’ll keep you posted for screen-shots!

More promotions info to come!


Leave a Reply

Categories

