Posted by: popcouver | July 6, 2010

Imperio!, Warner Bros.

Being the Harry Potter junkie that I am, all this news about the upcoming HP films has caused me to re-read the fantastic finale of the book series. Upon reading this brick of a novel for the up-teenth time, I have realized that there is absolutely no chance in hell that I will be satisfied with the movie version. Sad Fact.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll totally be lining up dressed as Luna Lovegood days in advance for the November screening at Scotiabank. But unlike my Twi-Fever after watching the relatively accurate Eclipse movie, I’m sure the overpowering emotion I will be feeling is: disappointment.

I’m fully aware that the HP movies have seemingly deteriorated in quality since the Prisoner of Azkaban mainly because of sheer quantity of storylines. However, I don’t think this is an excuse. I can only hope (and pray and wish!) that because of the Part 1-Part 2 nature of this movie, success will be achieved.

Now, because of my status as a wealth of HP knowledge, I decided to make a little list of the specific details I would DEFINITELY be including, if I could imperiuse the entire HP team at Warner Bros. If WB effs around with any more crucial moments of emotion or humour, this Popcouverite will be ranting about it. I bet you can’t wait!

1. The Seven Potters- Harry Potter SEVEN, SEVEN Horcruxes, SEVEN Potters. This moment sets up the danger for the entire novel. It also demonstrates the shift in attitude of Fred, George, Hermione, and Ron, for they are now adults and willing to risk everything to bring down Voldemort.

2. Ginny’s Birthday Gift- Let’s see if Daniel Radcliffe and Bonnie Wright can muster up a little bit of passion behind closed doors.

3. The Infiltration of the Ministry- This is just so intense. I’ll be so thrilled to see the use of the Polyjuice Potion, the discovery of the locket, seeing Mr. Weasley, etc etc etc!

4. Dobby’s Involvement at the Malfoy’s- I love the full-circle effect of having Dobby arrive, once again, to save Harry’s life, only to join the long legion of individuals who have died in the effort. Harry’s mourning is no less intense than when Dumbledore or Sirius died, and this says so much about the man Harry has become. (tear!)

5. Harry and Ron’s Heart-to-Heart- I just can’t wait to hear Harry tell Ron that he loves Hermione “like a sister”. AH. Love it!

6. The Flashbacks- Aberforth’s memory, Snape’s memories of Harry’s parents, Harry’s visions concerning Grindelwald and Voldemort, Voldemort’s memory of the Halloween night when he killed the Potters. I want absolute accuracy! These back stories are crucial to the story, just as Jasper and Rosalie’s memories were in Eclipse. 

7. The Ron-Hermione Kiss- Historically speaking, the WB already destroyed Harry and Ginny’s first kiss, and damn it if I’ll let it happen again! We NEED to see this moment in the intensity of the Hogwarts battle.

Further, speculation is at an all time peak over WHERE THE CUT WILL BE MADE!?!?! The most common answer seems to be at Shell Cottage. However, interviews with Helena Bonham Carter have shown that she doesn’t appear until the second film. Here’s the issue: have David Yates and screenwriter Steven Kloves cut slash altered the scene where Hermione is tortured by Bellatrix? As this is directly related to the hunt for the Horcruxes, I shudder to think of the changes which would follow.

PS: Just reviewed the cast list on imdb.com, and it is getting me EXCITED about the details being brought into the film! Almost every supporting character I can think of is included… even the Cattermoles, Elphias Doge, Viktor Krum, Professor Burbage, and Dolores Umbridge. YESSSSS! Maybe I do have faith, after all.

Too much HP? Sorry kids.

Responses

  1. I do know that at least four of the seven details you mention HAVE been filmed, and possibly more. And there IS a very passionate kiss between Harry and Ginny! Keep faith–I believe we WILL have the two most amazing HP movies possible!


Leave a Reply

Categories

