Posted by: popcouver | January 23, 2010

NBC and Conan part ways

As most of you will already know last night was the last night of Conan O’Brien’s stint as the host of The Tonight Show. It is not new news to anyone that NBC wanted Jay Leno back and inturn gave Conan the boot out the door along with $45million. I personally watched Conan’s last show and although I have always been more of a David Letterman fan, even when Leno was hosting The Tonight Show, I was really impressed with Conan’s show last night. I have always loved Conan as a person, and now I know why, he is a classy man. He didn’t hate on NBC at all, but instead thanked them for every opportunity they have given him.

He went on to say, “every comedian, every comedian dreams of hosting ‘The Tonight Show.’ And for seven months, I got to do it. And I did it my way with people I love. I do not regret one second of anything that we’ve done here.” He added,“I have had more good fortune than anybody I know. And if our next gig is doing a show in a 7-Eleven parking lot, we will find a way to make it fun.”

 Bravo Conan! Way to be a classy act. Your fan base has definately grown due to your performance last night and I am thinking that you will have no trouble finding something better than that 7-Eleven parking lot.

(source)

Check out a video on Conan’s farewell speech below!


Leave a Reply

Categories

